Bookmark and Share


Green Party LogoGreen Party Update On The 2008 Election


For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Scott McLarty, Media Coordinator, 202-518-5624, cell 202-904-7614,
Starlene Rankin, Media Coordinator, 916-995-3805,


Illinois Greens select US Senate candidate, run record number of US House candidates

PEORIA -- Illinois Green Party delegates, meeting at the party's convention this past weekend, nominated Kathy Cummings to run for the US Senate. The meeting took place at the Bradley Student Center in Peoria, March 28-29.

Illinois Greens also selected delegates to attend the Green Party's national convention, to take place in Chicago, July 10-13 ( The Illinois Green Party is allotted 44 delegates out of a total of 836 at the convention (

Four Illinois Green candidates for the US House addressed the meeting: Omar Lopez, Steve Alesch, Jerome Pohlen and Rodger Jennings. The candidates discussed party growth, alternative energy sources, immigration reform, and the Green Party's strong opposition to the US occupation of Iraq.

Last week, Sheldon Schafer announced his campaign for the US House in District 18, the latest of at least 11 Green candidates for Congress in Illinois. More Green congressional candidates are expected to announce before the filing deadline on Monday, April 7.

Illinois Green Party
Contact: Patrick Kelly, Media Coordinator,

US Senate nominee: Kathleen Cummings [WEB SITE]

Congressional candidates:
3rd District: Jerome Pohlen
4th District: Omar Lopez
5th District: Alan Augustson
9th District: Morris Shanfield
11th District: Jason Wallace
12th District: Rodger Jennings
13th District: Steve Alesch
16th District: Scott Summers
17th District: Troy Dennis
18th District: Sheldon Schafer
19th District: Vic Roberts


Cynthia McKinney wins Wisconsin Green Presidential Preference Primary

OSHKOSH -- Cynthia McKinney received a majority of the votes cast in the Wisconsin Green Party Presidential Preference Primary. Ms. McKinney received 79% of the vote; Kent Mesplay received 10%; write-Ins for Ralph Nader 5%; Kat Swift 2%; uncommitted 2%; and Jesse Johnson 1%. (Mr. Nader is running as an independent and is not seeking the nomination of the Green Party of the United States.)

The primary was held on Saturday, March 29 during the Wisconsin Green Party's Spring Gathering and Presidential Preference Convention at the River Center at the Gruenhagen Conference Center, University of Wisconsin in Oshkosh.

Wisconsin is allotted 24 delegates to the Green Party's national convention.

Wisconsin Green Party
Ron Hardy, Co-chair, 920-292-8129
Cindy Stimmler, Co-chair, 715-417-0637

Green Presidential Candidates:
Jesse Johnson
Cynthia McKinney
Kent Mesplay
Kat Swift


Green Party of the United States
202-319-7191, 866-41GREEN
Fax 202-319-7193

Video of Green presidential candidates

Green candidate database for 2007 and other campaign information:

Green Party News Center

Green Party Speakers Bureau

Green Party ballot access page

2008 Green National Convention: Live Green, Vote Green

Media credentialing