Bookmark and Share


Green Party LogoWrap-up of the 2016 Green National Convention

Green Party of the United States

For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, August 9, 2016

Scott McLarty, Media Coordinator, 202-904-7614,
Starlene Rankin, Media Coordinator,

Jill Stein and running mate Ajamu Baraka nominated on Aug. 6 in Houston: links to videos and transcripts of the speeches and other events

CNN town hall with Stein and Baraka: Wednesday, Aug. 17, 9 p.m. ET

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- At approximately 3:30 p.m. CT on Aug. 6 during the Green Party's 2016 national convention, Greens chose Jill Stein and running mate Ajamu Baraka to be the party's presidential and vice-presidential nominees.

Dr. Stein was nominated after receiving a majority of votes in the first round of voting. She received 239.5 out of 293 total votes (81.7%) cast by Green delegates from across the U.S.

The convention took place in Houston, Texas, on the campus of the University of Texas. Dozens of Green candidates from Texas and other states were among the party leaders, delegates, and observers.

Along with the nomination, highlights of the convention included speeches by Julian Assange (via live feed from the Ecuadorian Embassy in London), YahNé Ndgo, and Dr. Cornel West on Saturday and events welcoming former supporters of Bernie Sanders. Videos and texts of many of the speeches follow below.

CNN will air a town hall event with Dr. Stein and Mr. Baraka on Wednesday, August 17 at 9:00 p.m. ET, live on CNN, CNN International, CNN en Espanol, and online via CNNgo ( ).

Green Party delegates also voted to confirm the party's new national platform ( ).

Party members also elected a new steering committee. The new co-chairs are Darlene Elias (from Massachusetts), Darryl! L.C. Moch (District of Columbia), and Chris Blankenhorn (Illinois). Brian Bittner (Maryland) was chosen to be treasurer of the party.

Remaining co-chairs are Andrea Mérida-Cuéllar (Colorado), Sanda Everette (California), Tamar Yager (Virginia), Bahram Zandi (Maryland), and party secretary Jan Martell (North Carolina).

Greens thanked outgoing co-chairs Audrey Clement (Virginia), Charles Ostdiek (Nebraska), Paul Pipkin (Texas), and treasurer Jeff Turner (Hawai'i).

Greens also thanked Tamar Yager (Virginia) and Hillary Aisenstein (Pennsylvania), co-chairs of the party's Annual National Meeting Committee, for their hard work in organizing the convention.

Videos, speech transcripts, and related links

Jill Stein, acceptance speech
Campaign site:
Meet Jill Stein:

Ajamu Baraka, acceptance speech
Transcript (excerpt):
About Ajamu Baraka:
Web site:

Julian Assange, interviewed by David Cobb
Transcript (excerpt):
Justice for Julian Assange web site:

YahNé Ndgo: keynote speech

Dr. Cornel West: keynote speech

More videos from the convention

Green Party livestream from the convention
Morning speeches:
Afternoon keynote speeches, acceptance speeches:

Post-nomination press conference with Dr. Stein and Mr. Baraka
More press conferences and other videos from the Green National Convention, from Viva Bernie 2016:

Real News Network: interviews with Green Party candidates and leaders, Dr. West

C-SPAN: Dr. Stein's acceptance speech, introduced by Mr. Baraka


Green Party of the United States

Green candidate database and campaign information:
News Center
Ballot Access Page
Video Page
Green Papers
Livestream Channels and
Facebook page

Green Pages: The official publication of record of the Green Party of the United States

~ END ~