July 10, 2016

GPUS Steering Committee Minutes
Sunday, July 10, 2016 – 8:00 p.m. ET

a) Facilitator: Charles Sherrouse
b) To hear recording: 712-451-0019, access code 926334, ref #6
c) Present: Audrey Clement, Sanda Everett, Jan Martell, Andrea Merida, Paul Pipkin, Charles Ostdiek (joined late), Jeff Turner, Tamar Yager, Bahram Zandi. Observing: Starlene Rankin
d) Agenda revisions: none



a) Treasurer’s Report – Jeff sent cash report Saturday, there’s $75k in the bank, about $2400 came in overnight so about $77,500. A large part of the ANM budget is paid, there are outstanding merchandise bills and some Ballot Access earmarks, leaving about $30k toward current budgeted items.

b) Fundraising Report – Tamar. Letter has done well, last e-blast brought in 92 donors, 78 of them sustainers (representing $11k/year) Ali Thebert is leaving so we need writers soon, her new job has no-compete clause. Jeff asked about PNC registrations. Tamar said 249 so far, so maybe expect 300 – $23,720 has come in for registrations. About $10k is paid for meeting, $10-11k remaining, so we’ve made our budget.

c) Discussion of spending priorities in view of recent improved cash flow – Jeff. Members approved $1,500 additional funding for ANM/PNC diversity by consensus. Bahram requested $3k for International Committee travel; Audrey suggested more funds go toward ballot access; Jeff pointed out that BAC still had untouched reserve funds. Proposal to put out a call to the NC and standing committees through the liaisons for additional budget requests to submit to Fincom, with 1-week turnaround, was approved by consensus.

d) PNC Update – Final NC agenda was approved by consensus:
Friday, Aug. 5, 1-5 p.m.
• ANM Committee Announcements (1-1:15 p.m.)
• SC Candidate Speeches and Q&A (1:15-2:15 p.m.)
• Break (2:15-2:30 p.m.)
• 2016 Ballot Access/PCSC Status Report (2:30-3:00 p.m.)
• Anti-Oppression Workshop (3:00-5:00 p.m.)

In the queue:
Approval of Katija Gruene for Fincom

Received for the queue:
SC Co-chair Election: candidates Chris Blankenthorn, Jim Brash, Paul Pipkin, Darlene Elias, Audrey Clement, Alfred Molison, Darryl Moch
SC Treasurer Election: candidates Charles Ostdiek, Brian Bittner
No write-ins allowed; Jan will be Floor Manager.

a) Letter from Socialist Party USA for discussion – moved to Executive Session.

TOTAL TIME: 81 minutes

Entered: 9:27 p.m. Present: Audrey Clement, Sanda Everett, Jan Martell, Andrea Merida, Paul Pipkin, Charles Ostdiek, Jeff Turner, Tamar Yager, Bahram Zandi. Facilitating: Charles Sherrouse. Discussion of letter from Socialist Party USA concerning Rob Sherman ballot challenge in Illinois; Andrea will speak with Sherman, Jan will draft letter to SPUSA and post to SC list for feedback before sending. Discussion of staffing priorities if budget continues to improve; no decisions made. Ended 10:22 p.m.

Jan Martell
National Committee Discussion Forum: